Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Noel Hollingsworth Named NEWMAC Player of the Year; Kates Top Rookie

Sophomore Noel Hollingsworth was selected as the 2009-10 NEWMAC Player of the Year on Tuesday after guiding MIT to its first regular-season conference title in school history and a new single-season record for wins. Mitchell Kates earned additional hardware for the Engineers by being tabbed NEWMAC Rookie of the Year.

Hollingsworth, who was a four-time NEWMAC Player of the Week selection, paced the conference in scoring (20.5 ppg), rebounds (9.1), and field goal percentage (56.6%). He produced 13 double-doubles on the year, led the team in scoring in 16 games, and topped 30 points on five occasions. As MIT's second consecutive Player of the Year, Hollingsworth was also named to the All-Conference First Team.

Kates picked up Second Team All-Conference honors in addition to earning the program's third Rookie of the Year award in the last five years. Kates led the NEWMAC in assists (4.2) and steals (2.2) while leading the team in minutes played. Kates also ranked eighth in the league in scoring at 13.1 ppg.

First Team All-Conference: Noel Hollingsworth (MIT); Jeff Robinson (WPI); Mark Alexander (Clark); Matt Cavalieri (Springfield); Brian Vayda (Clark)

Second Team All-Conference: Mitchell Kates (MIT); Pat Crean (Springfield); Anthony Coppola (Wheaton); Brendan Degnan (Wheaton); Kyle Nadeau (WPI)

Official NEWMAC Release